Darn Dress

Today I picked up my bridesmaid dress from the seamstress for my sis-in-law’s (Auntie M) wedding.  I am really excited about the two weddings we have to celebrate this year.  Two opportunities to get all gussied-up, beautified, and DANCE!  Knowing I would be pregnant for Auntie M’s shindig and VERY pregnant for bro-in-law’s wedding, I purchased my bridesmaid dresses with room to spare and consulted with the alterations ladies at both retailers.  Well, to make a long story short and to get to the point of this post, my dress for Auntie M’s wedding is uncomfortably tight around the rib cage.  So much so that I can’t take a deep breath…and I have two more weeks before the wedding.  Two weeks doesn’t sound like a long time, but when your bust line and waist measurement seems to double each week (yes, I am exaggerating, but that’s what it seems like), two weeks might not allow me to zip the dress.  Yikes!  I’m the matron of honor; I have to fit into this dress.  It has been let out as much as possible.  Oh, the seamstress that performed the alterations told me not to grow anymore.  Yah, Thanks for the advice.  I’ll tell my body to stop nourishing our developing baby and preparing for her nutritional needs post delivery.  So, here I type repeating the mantra:  “I will fit into my dress, I will fit into my dress…”  At least I have some great shoes and earrings to go with that darn dress.

Leave a Reply

