What a week!

Sooooo much has happened this past week.  I will be brief in my update because there is no way I could go into detail without writing a novel.  Here are the high and low points of the week (not in chronological order):

Baby shower-  We had a family baby shower on Saturday to celebrate the upcoming arrival of MK, a little less than 4 weeks from now.  It was GR-8 to have the family there, both men and women.  One of Hubby’s grandfathers told me that at the age of 86 this is the only baby shower he had been to.  Our families have and continue to bless us so much.  I really don’t know what we would do without them!  We are abundantly well supplied for our new little girl and looking forward to meeting her in a few weeks. 

Mom and Sis visit- Because of the baby shower, my mom and sister were able to come from TN for a quick visit.  We also celebrated mom’s birthday while she was here .  I would tell you how old she is, but I have already received threats from her to write me out of her will due to previous ol’ timer jokes.  So, to keep the peace, my lips will remain sealed.  We really enjoyed having Gigi and Aunt S around and EK thoroughly enjoyed playing/hamming it up with them.  Ya’ll come back now, ya hear.

10 year HS reunion- WOW!  It has been 10 years since high school.  Sometimes it seems so long ago, but at the same time it seems like it was just the other day Hubby and I were walking the halls of OCHS.  We had a good time and are thankful to our class prez for organizing the whole shabang.  There were times of awkwardness when talking to some people; just not much in common after a decade.  But it was great to see how people are doing, who is married, who has kids and how many, and of course what everyone looks like.  I was amazed how little the gals of our group changed, but how much the guys did.  There was one guy there that I had no clue who he was due to the extra pounds and balding head until I was told his name.  I know that sounds incredibily mean, which is not my intention.  It is just the reason I didn’t recognize him.  If you have a high school reunion coming up, I do highly recommend you attend.  And if you take my advice here is one more piece to add, look through your year book to refresh your memory on names and faces.  I bet it will help.

Poop in the potty- EK surprised me once again with a successful potty experience.  Changing her diaper right before bed one night, she had a “rabbit pellet” in there, and I asked her if she was done going poo-poo.  She said “Poo-poo in potty.”  So my naked bambino and I  headed for the bathroom.  She sat on the potty, and I offered her a book.  I am thinking the whole time, “There is no point to this.  She’s not going to go potty, but we’ll give it a shot.”  Yeah, I know, what an encouraging and positive parenting moment that was.  Nevertheless, after several minutes of her sitting there looking at her book and asking what everything was, EK sat very still, her eyes widened and she popped up after about 30 seconds.  There it was poop in the potty!  I was so excited I almost forgot what to do next.  After lavish amounts of praise and two M&Ms, we headed back to her bedroom and finished getting her ready for bed.  It was a great way to end the day.

Bathroom almost done- The deadline for the bathroom was supposed to be Aug. 1st because we wanted my mom and sister to have a bathroom of their own to use while visiting.  Well after several weeks of late night work and a week of not going to bed before 1, 2, or even 3 in the morning, Hubby and I came to the realization that it just wasn’t going to happen and there was no real reason to kill ourselves trying to complete this task.  We were disappointed since we had promised a new bathroom to my fam, but they were understanding and did not mind in the least bit sharing a bathroom with us.  So the bathroom is about 95% done and will be completed within the next week.  Don’t worry, I’ll post pics.

First public all-out tantram- If you have a little one that has not had an all-out tantram in a public place, be prepared for embarrassment, frustration, and a desire to kill your offspring.  EK decided one day she was going to be a TOTAL brat and that day just happened to be when we had a bunch of errands to run.  I was hoping getting out of the house would be a fun distraction and that her obnoxious attitude would sweeten once out and about.  WRONG!!!  By the end of our errand session, EK was crying, hollaring and lying on the floor of Kohl’s; I had bags in hand and was trying to convince her to come on so we could go home.  She finally got off the floor but was still wailing because I would not let her push the shopping cart by herself, which she couldn’t do anyway, and just stood in front of the doors.  After having to push the handicap door openers twice I finally finagled my bags and purse into one hand and jerked my child outside.  She refused to hold my hand in the parking lot so I held her arm.  That made her mad and by the time we made it to the car, EK was hitting my arm.  That was it, the last straw.  I put the bags in the car, popped her good on her bum and gave her a good verbal lashing while putting her in the carseat.  Maybe I went too far with the discipline, but I will say she whimpered a bit and then straightened up.  Hopefully, lesson learned for both of us.

EK spent night with Granddaddy and Granny F and slept in a big girl bed- Becuase of the high school reunion and the fact that EK will be staying with Grandddaddy and Granny F while I’m in the hospital with MK, we gave her spending the night away a dress rehersal.  Granddaddy and Granny F had prepared a room just for EK equipped with her toys, books and a big girl bed.  Of course I was slightly anxious about this little adventure.  It is my first born spending the night away from home.  I know Granddaddy and Granny F are completely compentent in taking care of her but I just wanted to make sure everyone was prepared for the event.  And they were.  EK had a good time and only got out of the bed twice before crashing for the night.  The weirdest thing about the whole experience was for me.  On Sunday morning while getting ready for church the house was so quiet; it felt erie to me.  I had so much time to get ready I was looking around the house for stuff to do and still got to church about 40 minutes early.  It made me think of life before kids and wonder what did I do with all that time?  Ha!  I probably slept in.

One thought on “What a week!

  1. I can’t wait for the bathroom reveal! I am sure your hubby did a wonderful job.

    Congrats to EK on going to the bathroom in her potty. Such a big girl!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

