Rosette Hair Bow

Recently, EK was in Hubby’s cousin’s wedding as a flower girl.  All the ladies in the bridal party had there dresses made.  The dresses were made of a light olive green material.  The color looked lovely on EK, but it’s not a color easy to match with a hair bow off the rack.

I have made EK some hair bows in the past, so I decided I would make one to coordinate with this dress.  I have been wanting to try to make a fabric flower and decided this would be a great opportunity to give it a whirl.  A quick Google search resulted in my finding this awesome tutorial for fabric roses.

rose color chart from DuhBe.com

What I liked most about this tutorial was the ease of the process and the sophisticated look of the finished product.  Definitely check out Duhbe.com for all the details, but here’s a brief overview of how I made my rosette hair bow.

The seamstress making the flowergirl & bridesmaids dresses provided me with a large scrap of the dress material.  As instructed in the tutorial, I cut strips of fabric and trimmed the edges to give it a mounded appearance.  As you can see from the pictures, I didn’t follow the instructions exactly because I knew my rose was going on the noggin of an almost 3 year old little girl.  The last thing I wanted was to use up all the fabric on a rosette hair bow that turned out looking like a ridiculous growth coming off the side of the flowergirl’s head.

My strips turned out to be about 1″ wide and 18″ long.  I cut four strips but only used two of them.

I heated the edges of the mounded strips to make the edges curl.  DuhBe.com recommends using a candle.  My stubborn self thought it might be easier and quicker to use a match.  Don’t do that.  You’ll just burn your fingers and waste matches.  Use a candle in an open wide-mouth jar.  It works best.

Once the edges are curled it’s time to sew the strips so they ruffle.  I have never sewn ruffles before so I studied the pics on the tutorial and did the best I could.  I think I made the ugliest cruffle possible.  Yes, that “c” is supposed to be there because the ruffle was crappy!

Despite the disappointing cruffle, I continued with the steps thinking I might be able to work something out once I started to sculpt and sew the flower into final position.  Actually the cruffles worked perfectly.  With the two ruffles I made an outer and inner set of petals.  To make the petals, roll/wrap the ruffles around your fingers as loose or tight as you want your rose to be.  I quick stitched the ends to the rest of the roll to keep the shape of the petals.

I tacked the two sets of petals together with fabric glue and then went back and hand sewed them together.

From my previous hair bow ventures, I had an alligator clip on hand to use.  I chose to conceal the clip by wrapping it with some of the fabric.  I squeezed some glue along the top of the clip then placed the fabric on top.  Once dry, I flipped over the clip, applied glue to the outer edges of the clip and wrapped the fabric around.  Next, I snipped away the excess fabric so the clip would open and close easily.

I trimmed and folded over the fabric at the tip and glue it down.

With everything dry, I joined the rosette to the clip by sewing them together.  This also allowed me to sculpt the flower to fit flush against the clip and not look so bulbous.  I sewed or glued the petals into their proper place.

I was pleased with the turn out.  I think having the rose hair bow was just the right touch to EK’s flowergirl attire.  It was a little dressier than a regular hair bow, but not too much.

Overall, the project was fairly quick and easy.  And another perk is that even ugly ruffles can still turn into a beautiful rose. 🙂

Thanks DuhBe.com for sharing your “how-to” knowledge for these fun and elegant flowers.

4 thoughts on “Rosette Hair Bow

Leave a Reply

