Bird nest & speckled eggs shower for Baby Wynn #3

Shame, shame on me for taking THIS long to share with you a shower I had the honor of hosting with my sweet and oh so talented friend, Erin for our mutual friend the lovely Mrs. Courtney.  Courtney was expecting her third baby (the baby is now over two months old.  I know, I know…smack my hand!) and was going to be surprised if she was having a little girl or boy.  So we (Erin & I) decided on a bird and nest motif with shades of cream, green, and blue.  We made the invitations based on some inspiration Erin found (source unknown).

To make the invitation special we added a little poem at the top I wrote:

Erin was kind enough to have the event at her house.  She welcomed guests starting on the front porch with a burlap bow and a chalkboard message.

The favors were set on the entrance table in the wire tiered holder.  Erin painted and speckled half wooden eggs and put magnets on the back.  They were adorable and practical!  I have some on my fridge that I use.  I had found wedding favor tins on the clearance rack at Walmart.  We placed the eggs in the tins with brown shredded paper and wrapped them with raffia.  To keep it all together we added custom stickers on the bottom that said, “You’re so tweet!  Thanks for coming.”

Here is Erin’s beautiful mantle.  Personally, I love her idea of having doilies hanging over the edge of the mantle.  I’m stealing that idea for another shower I am hosting. 😉

We had an intimate group of women which allowed us to eat the yummy brunchy foods at the dining table all together.  Erin came up with the center piece of a blessing tree.  She made tags for each guest to write a message to the soon-coming babe and bless the baby and Courtney with well wishes.

Look at this adorable diaper cake!  Erin made it, and she allowed me to observe and learn the process of making one ’cause I had no clue.  It was the centerpiece of the food table.

There were all kinds of brunch food, but one thing that I made that I wanted to share was the Mason jar Apple-Pie Oatmeal with Bruleed Crust.  Click here for the recipe.

Games followed our meal.  We played Guess the Baby Item:  I placed 10 baby items (i.e. paci, comb, thermometer, etc.), one in each bag and numbered them.  This idea came from my dear friend Abby.

I made a coordinating answer sheet for everyone to write their answers on.

The second game we played was Baby Bingo.  To make the cards, I pulled pics of baby items off the internet and added them to a card.  Each card was different with either a couple of new pictures and/or a different order.  Here’s the pdf if you want it:  baby bingo pdf

Thanks Courtney for letting us celebrate the coming of baby 3.  He is so precious!

from left to right: me, Courtney, Erin, and Courtney's oldest child

 

3 thoughts on “Bird nest & speckled eggs shower for Baby Wynn #3

  1. Yes, shame shame on u! It is 2011 now u know!! Loved the shower and all the attention to detail. I am still impressed with your bingo card making skills.

  2. Pingback: A plaid and polka dot shower for our SIL « ADVENTUREHOOD

Leave a Reply

