A plaid and polka dot shower for our SIL

If you haven’t notice from my posts and others, there has been a wave of babies coming since the fall.  I had the pleasure of hosting another shower with my SIL, Auntie M, for our SIL, Aunt A.  Aunt A is expecting a precious baby girl at the end of this month.

We found these awesome invitations on Etsy and thought they were cute, a little different, but still girly.  Amy, at Rock Paper Dove, customized the invite for us.  She was great to work with; polite, professional and prompt.

Auntie M and I loved the plaid on this invitation and also the cantaloupe color.  This was the inspiration for the shower.

Since the fireplace is one of the first things you see when you come in the front door, we wanted to really dress it up.  I’ve wanted to make a banner, so this was a perfect excuse to do so.  I had a 50% off coupon for a Martha Stewart craft item, which I used to purchase the double loop around the page punches.  I found the plaid scrapbook paper at Hobby Lobby, and even though it didn’t exactly match the invitation, it had the same look we were going for and lots of other coordinating paper and fabrics.  The font on the banner is Honey Script from DaFont.com.  I just printed each letter on cardstock and cut them out.  The banner was an easy project, but it was time consuming.  A LOT  of cutting.  The monogram canvas came from EM; it coordinates with the nursery.

I wanted to spotlight this little arrangement from the mantle because I have about 3 bucks in the whole thing.  These are a couple of my secondhand finds.  The large blue mason jar ($1) came from a yard sale Abby told me about, and the milk glass vase ($1.91-I bought two; see other vase on left side of mantle) came from Goodwill.  The tissue paper cost…pennies?

Here’s the wow factor of the shower.  Auntie M made these tissue paper pom poms.  It’s not a novel idea, but they really made an impact.  They were awesome!  We hung them over the dining room table.

Here are the links for the instructions she used:

http://lillyella.blogspot.com/2009/04/how-to-tissue-pom-flowers.html

http://graceprintables.blogspot.com/2010/08/diy-perfect-party-pom-poms.html

Another little thing I want to show off is my new wire three-tiered stand.  I received it for my birthday from CW and EM.  It is so versatile and this time we used it for the cupcakes.  I love it!

As I mentioned before, EM showed me how to make a diaper cake and I put her tutelage to work.  This diaper cake was the centerpiece for the dining room table.

I wasn’t original at all when it came to the activities for the shower.  We did wish cards and played Name the Baby Animal game.  The wish cards were used at a shower I hosted with Abby for our mutual friend Lindsey, and I played the Name the Baby Animal game at my shower for MK.  Since they were both fun things why not do them again, right?

Auntie M and I wanted to something practical, but fun for the favors.  Don’t get me wrong, I love getting sweets as a going home treat, but coming off the holidays, we didn’t think many of the women wanted anymore temptation to potentially derail any New Year’s resolutions.  Auntie M came up with the great idea of chapstick or lotion, so I checked out Bath & Body Works one day and found these candles.  They were 3 for $5 and really smelled good (which is what truly matters 😉 ).  Bingo!  All I added was a sticker on the top that said “thanks for coming.”

I snapped this quick pic of Aunt A before she dug into the gifts.  We are all so excited to meet the girls’ first cousin!

One thought on “A plaid and polka dot shower for our SIL

Leave a Reply

